It’s called a hustle, sweetheart.

Zootropolis (2016)

Directors: Byron Howard & Rich Moore

76914___Selected

I straight up loved Zootropolis (named Zootopia in the US). I really, really loved it. I think I enjoyed it more than my daughter and more than my partners daughter and I think he did too. Zootropolis is essentially a cop movie for kids, showing an underdog rise up against all odds, to be beaten back down and then rise up all over again to prove everyone wrong. It’s gently inspiring, sending a solid message of work hard enough and it will all pay off. It’s one of those Disney films that appeals to us grownups just us much as the kids with many scenes making me laugh out loud. It’s common for a Disney film to fall into the same old pattern but for the most part, I genuinely was kept intrigued and curious by the story of Zootropolis. I didn’t know what to expect, I didn’t see the twist coming and I didn’t expect to come away with another crush on an animated fox. Robin Hood will always have my heart but Nick Wylde is like the Flynn Rider (Tangled) of the animal world and I was so down with his lackadaisical attitude and sass. Judy Hopps, played by Ginnifer Goodwin (known for Snow White in Once Upon a Time) is your stereotypical optimistic, sunshine and rainbows protagonist but get this, without being irritating. I know, crazy right? I don’t know about you but I find the over the top enthusiasm and happiness very annoying when it comes to Disney films. I didn’t feel that in the slightest with Zootropolis.

eu_zootropolis_gi_nick-wilde_6e4abafb

On top of fantastic casting for the characters (it has to be said that Idris Elba is probably by favourite) the animation is, yet again, second to none. I’ve looked at some of the concept designs for the locations used in the film and they are not only stunning but really cleverly done. There are some real classic undertones of racial issues and stereotyping, which is commonplace in the world of Disney but Zootropolis is about acceptance, understanding, and overcoming the odds anyway, no matter who you are. I personally I loved that, I think it’s a very important message, especially for our next generation. Some heartbreaking and heartwarming backstories really do give you a connection to the main characters and flesh the film out nicely.

eu_zootropolis_gi_officer-clawhauser_56386be2

I’ve already mentioned how funny I found Zootropolis but I cannot emphasize enough that this is not a film just for the children. Some jokes are wasted on the younger audience and made just for us. A couple of characters made my jaw ache, particularly Mr. Big whom is the biggest crime lord in Zootropolis and obviously based on Don Vito Corleone (The Godfather). Anyone who enjoys a good gangster film will love him. This is a film to view and to be enjoyed by everyone. Don’t even think about it, just go see it. Go alone, take the kids, take your partners, your parents, anyone.

For fans of: Tangled, Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

