Crazy is building your ark after the flood has already come.

10 Cloverfield Lane (2016)
Director: Dan Trachtenberg
Cinematographer: Jeff Cutter

tumblr_o3y39gnwUW1s8esgpo7_1280The distant cousin of 10 Cloverfield Lane, Cloverfield, was one of my favourite films of 2008. I saw it twice at the cinema and one of those times, I took my mum. My mum who couldn’t care less for films unless they are action movies from the 80s or budget disaster films and she lapped it up. Cloverfield was quite the spectacular piece of work, scaling over a massive city spread out over many locations and this in contrast is mostly set in a bunker. It’s claustrophobic and it oozes tension. You feel a real sense of being cornered at every turn. 10 Cloverfield Lane may not throw a new alien at you every 10 minutes but it is certainly thrilling and it stands its own. This just may be a new favourite on the science fiction scene.
tumblr_o3ylreTgT51r1v5y5o1_1280
My boyfriend and I spent the entire film waiting for Kaiju. Expecting every unsettling noise and rumble to be an alien of some sort and we did, to some extent, come away disappointed that we didn’t see more monsters but on reflection now, I’m glad of that. The small space made you concentrate on what was really important and that was John Goodman. When I think of John Goodman, I think back to my childhood. I think of Roseanne and The Flintstones, I think of his voice acting in films such as Monsters Inc and The Emperors New Groove. I have never thought of him as an actor that could make me feel uncomfortable. This may just be his most outstanding role in recent years. He is an absolute powerhouse of a presence which is possibly why the other two cast members feel so weak. Not only as performances but as characters in the film. John Goodman is like a whirl of thick black smoke that you just can’t see through and that makes your skin crawl, he makes this film all by himself.
tumblr_o4lwsiMjw11vpt54uo1_1280.jpg
I do not wish to over-talk about 10 Cloverfield Lane. I think you will appreciate walking in to the cinema blind because your eyes will be wide open, from start to finish. I thoroughly enjoyed watching this, it was a complete ride.

For fans of: Cloverfield, The Shining, Devil, Panic Room

 

Leave a Reply

